Department of Computer Science and Engineering

PET Engineering College

Department Activities


Event Report

A National Level Technical Symposium C-Electra 2019 was organized by the Departments of CSE, ECE and EEE in association with the Institution of Engineers (INDIA) at PET Engineering College, Vallioor on 1st October 2019. Ms. S. J. Jey Preethi, a final year ECE student welcomed the gathering. Ms. J. Pani Regis Livina, a final year CSE student gave a brief introduction about the Symposium to the audience.

Dr. N.Mohamed Sheriff, the Principal of the College delivered the presidential address. The Principal hinted upon the industrious nature of the Japanese and promoted the students to follow them in being innovative and an expert in technology. He insisted that the primary objective of such symposia is to inculcate the habit of tolerance and team spirit in students. He also insisted that as young engineers they should work with perseverance to realise the dream of Dr. A. P. J. Abdulkalam. Mr. P. Amuthan, of III year EEE student introduced the chief guest Ms. Priya Sri, Chief Executive Officer, Cube Yogi, Ambasamudram. The Principal released the Souvenir and it was received by the chief guest.

The chief guest in her address emphasised that the real potential of an individual gets unleashed only in calm and serene surroundings. She elucidated on the advantages of working in a small town rather than in a big city. She brought to limelight about their company’s revolutionary step of establishing a software concern in a small town which would uplift the economy of the place thereby paving way for global economy. She asserted the students to arise, awake and set self goals for themselves and work with new energy and enthusiasm.

Several contests like Paper presentation, Bug Smasher, Hogwarts, Best Manager were held. Nearly 150 students from different Engineering Colleges attended the Symposium. During the valedictory session the winners of several contests were given prizes and certificates. Mr. K. Srinath, of final year CSE proposed the vote of thanks. Dr. K. Madhan kumar, Head of the Department of Dr. S. Babu Rengarajan, Head of the Department of CSE, Professor R. Kalaiselvi, Head of the Department of EEE organised the program. Prof. C. Reka of ECE, Prof. Subbanth Williams of EEE, Prof. JaffarAli of CSE coordinated the event.